Ken's Project Blog

October 22, 2010

Don’t Bother Applying to NPR

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ken @ 3:51 pm

I’m having a bit of fun here, but I recently started thinking of things that could, reasonably, get one fired from NPR, based on the Juan Williams termination kerfuffle – any line below not attributed is mine:

There is nothing more painful to me at this stage in my life than to walk down the street and hear footsteps and start thinking about robbery. Then look around and see somebody white and feel relieved…. After all we have been through. Just to think we can’t walk down our own streets, how humiliating.

Source: Remarks at a meeting of Operation PUSH in Chicago (27 November 1993). Quoted in “Crime: New Frontier – Jesse Jackson Calls It Top Civil-Rights Issue” by Mary A. Johnson, 29 November 1993, Chicago Sun-Times (ellipsis in original). Partially quoted in US News & World Report (10 March 1996)

“(My) white grandmother – a woman who helped raise me, a woman who sacrificed again and again for me, a woman who loves me as much as she loves anything in this world, but a woman who once confessed her fear of black men who passed by her on the street.” [ED: Well, maybe it’s his Grandmother that would get fired at NPR, not then-candidate Sen. Obama]

Source: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/03/18/obama-race-speech-read-th_n_92077.html

When I see a man wearing a ski mask walk into a bank, I get nervous.

Man says “I’m from the Gov’t, and I’m here to help you”, and I get scared.

See a black man wielding a night stick at polling station, I get scared.

Got any of your own? The rules are they must be reasonable, honest, and simply mention someone’s race, religion, etnicity, etc…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

