Seems our friends in California were busy last year, passing all sorts of laws that took effect yesterday, January 1st, 2011 – 725 new laws to be precise.
While I am certain there are some very good, worthwhile, and long-overdue laws that took effect yesterday, there are just as certainly some very silly, “nanny-state gone wild” laws that also took effect yesterday:
SB 782 prevents landlords from evicting tenants who are victims of domestic or sexual abuse or stalking.
The law protects victims from being evicted because they are victims of domestic or sexual abuse or stalking – seriously, how many people in California are evicted each year because of their victimization by domestic or sexual abuse or stalking? NOTE: The law does allow for eviction for failure to pay rent, but I’m not clear on what happens if a victim can’t/doesn’t make rent payments… Which trumps which?
AB 1871 allows people to lease out their cars when they are not being used—alleviating the need to purchase additional insurance.
What? People leasing out their private cars to others? How common is THIS? And all for the purpose of buying additional insurance? I have to pay additional fees for insurance on rental properties, but California (I assume) wants to develop a state-wide “zip car” operation but on the mom and pop level…
SB 1317 allows the state to slap parents with a $2,000 fine if their K-8 child misses more than 10 percent of the school year without a valid excuse. It also allows the state to punish parents with up to a year in prison for the misdemeanor.
Wow, how long before the state realizes that this will unfairly impact minorities and single women/mothers? Jailing parents for their children’s skipping school (in the most extreme of cases) seems a bit, um, harsh. What’s the penalty for the children that don’t attend school? BTW – most public school years are 185 days, meaning missing more than 19 or so days could put mom or dad in the pokey…
Check out the entire list of all 725 new laws in California here.